90 days later….and now what?

by Living with RSD: what comes next?


About 90 days ago, I received a challenge to set a goal and work towards it. So where am I now?

I had set out to heal my soul and to focus on the recovery of the parts of me that doctors can’t heal. To find my passion and to figure out the rest of my recovery from surgery….to heal my soul.

Now, I knew that 90 days wouldn’t do it, but I thought that I could get a great start. When I began that journey, I anticipated being done with physical therapy. I wanted to explore other options for recovery. But, my body wasn’t ready for that. More physical therapy, more doctors. I thought that I could start the concept of a body budget. Focus on letting the positive energy flow through me and to get rid of the toxins that hold me back. Sounded like a great plan.

Some time into it, I realized this. The positive energy doesn’t come from exercise, sleep or even eating the right foods. Again, it flows through the soul.

My heart needed to heal. It still needs to heal. I’ve taken great strides forwards to eliminating the toxic energies that were pushing me down, but I still have some work to do.

Now, I sit at the end of my second round of physical therapy. My ankle seems to be holding steady in place and I haven’t fallen into any random strangers lately with the exception of a few close calls today. Much of my control of my body has changed. I can’t do what I used to. I am not okay with that yet, but I am closer to fine.

I realized too that I am both the master of my soul and the very one that puts it in a prison. I have allowed myself to stand in the way of my own happiness. I am making better choices to focus on positive energy everyday, but it’s hard.

I’ve also tried clipping coupons to control my budget. To date, I’ve only saved a out $20 not too great. But, I did score some great samples of post it’s, free paint, a free Bluetooth and some yummy coffee. Can’t be too sad about that.

I don’t know how you measure success. For me, it’s going to be wearing those beautiful Calvin Klein heels and getting to wear some great fall boots. I did score one pair of shoes in all of this. My Brooks running shoes with a stability sole built into it. I suppose that I needed new soles to heal my soul. My 90 day challenge has really turned out to be how to wear the same tennis shoes.

Leave a Reply

