It’s a small world

by Living with RSD: what comes next?

Is Disney really the happiest place on Earth? Well..kind of. Disney did what no one else has been able to do, I really did forget my problems for a few days. I was brought back to reality when the pain killers wore off and my feet swelled up. I could have let it bring me down, but I realized that I had all of the tools with me. I had the medicine and the appropriate footwear, sure, but what got me through the week was me. It was my first time not being able to go on the rides. I was nervous about how I felt about it, but more nervous about how my children would feel about it. They did a great job. And what I missed was hearing my children laughing, or crying, on the rides. I wanted to be there with them, but in my own way, I was. I got to cheer them on and be there when they got off. Not only that…I was able to keep up with them walking, running and waiting in the park. Granted, the painkillers helped a great deal, but I did it! I felt like I proved to the kids that things might be different now, but it’ll all be okay. That did more for my recovery than any physical therapy, doctor or narcotic. So, things might be different, but it’s all going to be okay.

Back at home, I’m trying to keep the spirit of Disney with me. That spirit that our differences are what makes the world go around. One mouse did for me what no amount of painkillers or medications could do. I have a t-shirt and coffee mug to help me remember when I slip back to defeat and the blues of having this disorder. At the end of the day, I get to be me. My flawed self has nothing to do with the disorder and everything to do with my soul. It’s more important to focus my energy on rebuilding my soul and my body will follow.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

