Teach to goal

by Living with RSD: what comes next?

I’m in California waiting for my flight home after a conference on health literacy. One concept that was shared a the conference was the notion of the “teach back” method vs. “teach to goal” method that doctors utilize. The teach back method has you describe, in your own words, what the doctor just said, e.g. your recommendations. For example, I shouldn’t carry anything over 10 lbs. The teach to goal method looks at the recommendation and keeps asking questions to drill down. For example, I shouldn’t carry anything over 10 lbs which means that my luggage is too heavy for me to carry which means that I need to check bags or ask for help.

I did neither of these things. From a medical standpoint, I know that I shouldn’t carry my own bags through this airport. I don’t want to need the help therefore I don’t ask for it. It’s one of the hardest things around to need this much help at this point of my life.
I wonder if I would have a different approach to this if my doctors had tried the teach to goal. May be the point is that I need to set my own goals for myself. In the meantime, I’ll painfully lug these bags around hoping no one notices now much pain I’m in. Sounds stupid even as I type it.

Leave a Reply

